Onslow: Quintet no. 16 in E, opus 39

String quintet: 2 violins, viola, cello/viola, cello. Suitable for grade 8 and above



Instruments: two violins, viola and two cellos (or two violas and one cello)

Catalogue no.: Q1991-1

ISMN: 979-0-708807-18-6

This edition of Onslow’s sixteenth string quintet has the advantage of being either a two viola or a two cello quintet, as it is published with parts for two cellists or two violists. It is a major work, with good parts for all players, and a particularly beautiful slow movement.

George Onslow, an Anglo-French composer, was born in Clermont-Ferrand in July 1784 and died there in October 1853. He was the grandson of the first Lord Onslow and descended, through his mother, from the family of Brantôme. Although he showed no special love of music in his early years, he later became a prolific composer, particularly of chamber music, including 34 string quintets, some for two cellos, some for cello and double bass and some for 2 violas, and 35 string quartets, one of which is also published by SJ Music (Q1999-4). His piano quintet opus 70 is also published by SJ Music (Q2005-2).


You might also like ...

Onslow quintet op39 score  -cover

Onslow: Quintet opus 39 (score)

Miniature score to string quintet


Martin - Pavane

Martin: Pavane 'Couleur du temps'

String quintet: 2 violins, viola/clarinet, cello, cello/double bass (score included). Suitable for grade 7-8


Onslow quartet 2 - cover

Onslow: Quartet in F, opus 8 no. 2

String quartet: 2 violins, viola, cello. Suitable for grade 8 and above


Onslow quintet op78 - cover

Onslow: Quintet no. 32 in D minor, opus 78

String quintet: 2 violins, 2 violas, cello. Suitable for grade 8 and above