Onslow: Quintet no. 32 in D minor, opus 78

Onslow quintet op78 - cover

Hover for zoomClick to enlarge

Instruments: two violins, two violas and cello

Catalogue no.: Q1993-4

ISMN: 979-0-708807-34-6

Onslow’s string quintet opus 78 is a major work, with good parts for all players. Unlike his earlier quintets, it is written to include two violas rather than two cellos.

George Onslow, an Anglo-French composer, was born in Clermont-Ferrand in July 1784 and died there in October 1853. He was the grandson of the first Lord Onslow and descended, through his mother, from the family of Brantôme. Although he showed no special love of music in his early years, he later became a prolific composer, particularly of chamber music, including 34 string quintets, some for two cellos, some for cello and double bass and some for 2 violas, and 35 string quartets, one of which is also published by SJ Music (Q1999-4). His piano quintet opus 70 is also published by SJ Music (Q2005-2).



Add to wishlist