Kuznetsov: Suite, opus 28 (4 cellos)

Quartet for four cellos



Instruments: four cellos (score included)

Catalogue no.: E2011-1

ISMN: 979-0-708807-90-2

Cellists don’t often meet each other except in orchestras, so when they do, it’s time to celebrate by playing a piece for four cellos. This piece fits the bill perfectly – tuneful, not too difficult (although the first cello part has some high notes), and with good parts for all four players – a fun piece to pull out when the appropriate occasion presents itself – perhaps in the break of an orchestra rehearsal, or on a music course, or even in a sectional rehearsal when the work to be rehearsed has been perfected?

The composer is the Russian cellist, teacher and composer Aleksandr Kuznetsov who was born in 1847 and died in 1918. He studied with Davidoff and was a contemporary of Tchaikovsky at the St. Petersburg Conservatory. He took part in the first performance of Tchaikovsky’s sextet, “Souvenir de Florence” in St. Petersburg in 1890.

If you like the sound of cellos playing together, you will also like these pieces published by SJ Music: Lindley cello duets opus 4 (D1989-6), Chinzer six sonatas for two cellos (D1993-8), Gordon Jacob cello octet (E2007-2), Gabrielli canon for two cellos (D1988-4), Bunting Three pieces for cello ensemble - four cellos (E1996-2), Emanuel Moor: op 95 Suite for four cellos (E2008-2), and Davidov: Hymn for 10 cellos, 2 basses and timpani (E2010-1).


You might also like ...

Bosanquet: The Secret Life of Cello Strings

Practical guide to cello harmonics


Bunting Cello Ensemble - cover

Bunting: Three pieces for cello ensemble

Cello ensemble (4 parts) (score included)


Moor suite - cover

Moor: Suite for 4 cellos, opus 95

Quartet for four cellos